THE POWER OF HABIT – A BOOK REVIEW BY A SOUTH ASIAN

Since I was a kid, I have heard how ‘Old Habits Die Hard’ and ‘People Die but Habits Don’t Change’.  I thought so too and was worried due to the few bad habits that I have attained over the past years. BUT!!! This book has brought new hope and light to my life.


INTRO

Originally published on Feb 28, 2012, ‘The Power of Habit’ is a 371-paged ‘Self-improvement’ book written by Charles Duhigg.

Charles Duhigg’ is a ‘Pulitzer-prize’ winning American journalist and non-fiction writer.

SUMMARY

In this journey, the author ‘examines why some people and companies struggle to change, despite years of trying, while other seem to remake themselves overnight.

WHY WE DO WHAT WE DO AND HOW TO CHANGE

The book teaches us about ‘3-step formula’ for constructing a habit. Habits such as over-eating, drug abuse, drinking, even nail-biting etc. are stubborn and it takes years of struggle in attempting to overcome them and we still can’t break them. But this book takes us 3 step further.

MY THOUGHTS

I liked this book tremendously, as it opened my mind to a phenomenon unknown to me (and I am sure to you as well), ‘The Science of Habit Formation’. It also makes one realize how much planning and logic was put into ‘advertisements’ and how much do ‘they’ affect us without us realizing. The level of research done for this piece is clearly visible from the start till the end.

♠ “We Might Not Remember The Experience That Create Our Habits, But Once They Are Lodged Within Our Brains They Influence How We Act­­­­­—–Often Without Our Realization.” ♠

THE ONLY ISSUE I HAD

I did struggle with the ‘Tampa Bay Buccaneers’ part of the book though, as I neither understand Football nor have any interest in it. But, I found ‘Golden Rule of Habit Change’ to be quite powerful and eye-opening.

CONCLUSION

I found this book to be life-changing and I feel it is a must have in every book-worm’s bookshelf. I never thought a non-fiction book could be so intriguing and will keep me curious till the end.

I give it 9 out of 10 score. Highly recommended ♥♥.

If you would like to recommend some similar books, down in the comment section, I would love to give it go.

Thanks for Making It So Far ♥!!


P.S. My First book review- You must be wondering, a review in 2020, of a book published in 2012. Is she crazy? Well I have been meaning to write book reviews for a while now but couldn’t just find the courage and well I just read it.


 

2 thoughts on “THE POWER OF HABIT – A BOOK REVIEW BY A SOUTH ASIAN

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑